Came across one of my favorite scenes

from Bound in Blood while refreshing my memory on something for Book 6. Here is an excerpt:

“You do realize it’s just a tree, right?” Gwyn tried, struggling to keep her voice light. Inside she was wondering what she was going to do if he decided to start randomly assigning enemy status to plants. She’d counted on having the relative safety of the woods while they traveled.

“It’s not just a tree to me,” he answered tightly. Then he sighed. “I don’t expect you to understand.”

“Then why not explain it to me? What can it hurt?”

“You’ll think I’m crazy.”

“Yeah, a little late on that one, buddy,” Gwyn muttered automatically, then she immediately reddened. Oh great. I hope he didn’t catch that.

“They talk to each other,” Dominic informed her, his words clipped and testy. “I’ve always been able to hear them if I’m close enough. Yes, even before the fever. No, nothing else talks to me that shouldn’t. No, they don’t instruct me to build shrines or go on murderous rampages. They don’t speak to me at all.”

She winced. Yeah, I think he heard me.

Find the whole thing here. 😉

Leave a Reply

